Kenya has over the years registered very low numbers of women in politics and often women are accused of seeking political positions they have not earned. This has contributed to failure of enacting an affirmative action mechanism to effect the two third gender rule. In 2013 the country saw a reduced representation of women through elected seats in parliament from 9% in the 10th August house to 5%  in the 11th August House.  However the preliminary results of the just concluded 2017 general elections provides hope that Kenyan voters are well ahead of policy makers on the issue of women representation and so gender parity is no longer a mirage. The preliminary results indicate that the number of women in the National Assembly is likely to increase from 5% to 8% for the non-affirmative positions and from 0% to 6%in the Senate. So far we have 3 women elected as governors. Joyce Laboso Governor elect for Bomet, Anne Waiguru Governor elect for Kirinyaga and Charity Ngilu Governor elect for Kitui; again an increase from zero to 6%. Additionally there are 3 women senators. Susan Kihika Senator elect for Nakuru, Margaret Kamar Senator elect for Uasin Gishu and Fatuma Dullo Senator elect for Isiolo County.  Kenyans have elected 23 women as Constituency members of parliament as hereunder:

  1. Likoni Constituency , Mombasa County – Mishi Mboko , MP Elect
  2. Malindi Constituency  , Kilifi Constituency – Aisha Jumwa MP Elect
  3. Taveta Constituency , Taita Taveta County- Naomi Shabaan MP Elect
  4. Ijara Constituency , Garissa County – Sophia Abdi MP Elect
  5. Baringo South – Grace Chelagat Kipchoim –MP Elect
  6. Turbo Constituency Uasin Gishu County – Janet Jepkemboi Sitienei ,MP Elect
  7. Njoro Constituecny Nakuru County – Charity Kathambi Chepkwony  – MP Elect
  8. Naivasha Constituency Nakuru County – Jane Kihara – MP Elect
  9. Gilgil Constituency Nakuru County –  Martha Wangari,MP Elect
  10. Samburu West Samburu County – Naisula Lesuuda –MP Elect
  11. Laikipia North Laikipia County – Sarah  Paulata Korere –MP Elect
  12. Kajiado  East , Kajiado County –Peris Tobiko , MP Elect
  13. Gatundu North ,Kiambu – Anne Wanjiku Kibe , MP Elect
  14. Kigumo ,Muranga County –  Ruth W.Mwaniki, MP Elect
  15. Kandara ,Murangá County – Alice Wahome, MP Elect
  16. Maragua ,Murangá County – Mary W.Njoroge, MP Elect
  17.  Rangwe , Homabay County – Lilian Achieng Gogo, MP Elect
  18. Kabondo Kasipul , Homabay County- Eve Akinyi Obaara, MP Elect
  19. Suba North ,Homa Bay County – Millie Odhiambo , MP Elect
  20. Kasarani , Nairobi City County – Mercy Wanjiku Gakuya ,MP Elect
  21. Kitui South Kitui  – Rachael Kaki Nyamai ,MP Elect
  22. Kibwezi East , Makueni County – Jessica Nduku Mbalu ,MP Elect
  23. Bomet East ,Bomet County – Beatrice Kones ,MP Elect

This is good progress as the trend will expose Kenyans to women leadership and help nurture a broader talent of women aspiring for political leadership.